

Reference document

BALLOT TO APPROVE THE TRUSTEE BOARD REGULATIONS 4 February – 12:00 GMT 28 February 2022

This document contains the four by-laws members voted in 2021 to remove from the Royal Charter and By-laws governing document and replace with new Trustee Board Regulations.

60 THE PRESIDENT

- President Patrick Kniveton BSc (Hons) MBA CEng FIMechE FIET, or such other person who has been appointed in his place prior to the Annual Meeting in May 2014, is President until the announcement of a new President at the Annual Meeting in May 2014. Group Captain Mark Hunt BEng (Hons) MA MBA FCMI CEng FIMechE RAF shall be President upon his being announced as President at the Annual Meeting in May 2014. Group Captain Hunt shall hold office until the announcement of a new President at the Annual Meeting in May 2015. If Group Captain Hunt is unable to assume the office of the President at the Annual Meeting in May 2014, the office of the President shall be assumed by Professor Richard Folkson BSc(Eng) CEng FIMechE ACGI upon his being announced as President at that Annual Meeting, and he shall serve as President until the announcement of a new President at the Annual Meeting in May 2015. If to fill a casual vacancy prior to the Annual Meeting in May 2015, the President shall be appointed from the Past Presidents and shall hold office until the announcement of a new President at the Annual Meeting in May 2015.
- 60.2 With effect from 2015 (subject to By-law 60.1):
- 60.2.1 a person shall take office as President immediately after having served as President Elect or, if to fill a casual vacancy, the President shall be appointed from the Past Presidents;
- 60.2.1 the President shall hold office from the Annual Meeting upon the announcement of that President's appointment until the announcement of a new President at the next Annual Meeting, or if the President has been appointed to fill a casual vacancy, from the date of the President's appointment to the announcement of a new President at the next Annual Meeting; and
- 60.2.3 if no President Elect is in office to succeed as President at the next following Annual Meeting, there shall be an election for the office of the President and such President shall be elected from those who are or have been Vice-Presidents or International Vice-Presidents. Such President shall hold office from the Annual Meeting upon the announcement of that President's election until the announcement of a new President at the next Annual Meeting. A Past President shall not be eligible for re-election as President.

61 PRESIDENT-ELECT

- The President Elect shall be Professor Richard Folkson BSc(Eng) CEng FIMechE ACGI upon his being announced as President Elect at the Annual Meeting in May 2014. Professor Folkson shall hold office until the announcement of a new President Elect at the Annual Meeting in May 2015. If Professor Folkson is unable to assume the office of the President Elect at the Annual Meeting in May 2014, the office shall be assumed by a person, if any, who shall have been elected to such office prior to the Annual Meeting in 2014, or, if there be no such person, the office shall remain vacant until the Annual Meeting in May 2015. If, having assumed the office of President Elect, that President Elect is unable to continue in office, the office of President Elect shall remain vacant until the Annual Meeting in May 2015.
- 61.2 With effect from 2015 (subject to By-law 61.1):
- 61.2.1 the President Elect shall be elected from those who are or have been Vice-Presidents or International Vice-Presidents;

- 61.2.2 the President Elect shall hold office from the Annual Meeting upon the announcement of the President Elect's election until the announcement of a new President Elect at the next Annual Meeting;
- 61.2.3 if there is a vacancy in the office of the President Elect the office shall remain vacant until the announcement of a new President Elect at the next Annual Meeting; and
- 61.2.4 a Past President shall not be eligible for election as President Elect.

62 VICE-PRESIDENTS AND INTERNATIONAL VICE-PRESIDENT

- The Vice-Presidents shall be elected from those Fellows who are ordinary members of the Trustee Board or members of the Council or who prior to 12 February 2002 were or had been Ordinary Members of the Council (as constituted prior to that date).
- 62.1.1 A Vice-President shall hold office for three years and shall be eligible for re-election for a further three year term.
- 62.1.2 Notwithstanding the three year term of office, one Vice-President shall retire each year.
- The International Vice-President shall be elected from those Fellows who are ordinary members of the Trustee Board or members of the Council or who prior to 12 February 2002 were or had been Ordinary Members of the Council (as constituted prior to that date) subject to the international experience criterion set out in By-law 56.
- 62.2.1 The International Vice-President shall hold office for three years and shall be eligible for reelection for a further three year term.
- **ORDINARY MEMBERS OF THE TRUSTEE BOARD** The ordinary members of the Trustee Board shall be elected from Corporate Members subject to the international experience and age criteria set out in By-law 56.
- An ordinary member of the Trustee Board shall hold office for three years and may be elected for a further three year term.
- 63.2 Neither a retiring President nor a Past President shall be eligible for election as an ordinary member of Trustee Board.
- 63.3 Notwithstanding By-law 63.1 one ordinary member of the Trustee Board shall retire each year.

--- END ---